About

Marc Willgoss
Blacksmith & Teacher

Marc Willgoss

After I finished my apprenticeship by the The Worshipful Company of Blacksmiths in 2008, I started my workshop in Petit-Bersac. Although the number of blacksmiths in Western Europe is declining - because of economic and cultural reasons - I have always been interested in this old trade. Many if not all modern trades and industries are based on the blacksmith who produced their tools and equipment. And this aspect of the blacksmith's work is the most attracting to me, the capability to fabricate my own tools.

My work includes traditional and modern locks and hinges, furniture, sculptures, repairs and welding services as well as selling steel. The essential work however is the work in the forge, meaning the transformation of iron, steel and other metals though heat. To achieve this I use a coke forge, a gas forge and a charcoal forge, as every metal and every composition has different specifications and requirements.

The heating techniques, the time of work and the tools are adapted to the materials used. The blacksmith needs to understand the fire and learn how to use hammer and anvil efficiantly. It takes time to master the basic techniques. My apprenticeship e.g. took almost five years. My clients are as varied as the work they bring - farmers, masons, artists, pensioner, professional and private people.

Contact

Info

Marc Willgoss
Forgeron & Professeur

Marc Willgoss

En 2008, ayant fini mon apprentissage en ferronnerie et fer forgé traditionnel en Angleterre, je suis venu m'installer à Petit-Bersac, là ou mes parents et grand-parents ont vécu. Bien que le métier de forgeron et le fer forgé soient en déclin en Europe de l'ouest, pour des raisons économiques et culturelles, je me suis toujours intéressé à cet art ancien, base de tout corps de métiers moderne, le forgeron étant celui qui fabrique l'outillage. Dailleurs c'est cet aspect du métier qui m'attire le plus, la capacité de fabriquer moi-même tous mes outils.

Je fais entre autre de la serrurerie classique et contemporaine, des meubles, des sculptures, des réparations et soudures ainsi que la vente d'acier mais ce qui reste essentiel c'est le travail de forge en lui-même, c'est à dire la transformation d'acier, fer et autres métaux à chaud. Pour cela, j'utilise une forge à charbon classique, une forge à gaz et une forge à charbon de bois. Chaque métal et chaque forge a sa spécificité.

Les techniques de chauffe, la durée de travail et les outils sont adaptés aux matériaux employés, et le forgeron passe autant de temps à comprendre l'âme du feu et du travail avec le marteau et l'enclume que notre métier passe, et il faut un certain temps pour acquérir les techniques de base. Mon apprentissage, par exemple, a duré presque cinq ans. Mes clients sont aussi variés que le travail qu'ils m'apportent - agriculteurs, maçons, artisans d'art, retraités, professionnels et particuliers.

Contact